Enemies of the Heart by Andy Stanley


Enemies of the Heart – Breaking Free From The Four Emotions That Control You by Andy Stanley is one of the best books I’ve read in a very long time aside from God’s own word.

With each emotion (guilt, anger, greed, and jealousy) he had me examining my heart to see how it related to what he was sharing and determining if there was anything I needed to be doing to cleanse that particular poison out of my life.  It might come as a surprise to some what they see in their heart through the bible based, common sense promptings of Andy’s writing.  It did me.

Andy shares personal examples, scriptures, and years of experience all through the book. One of my favorite parts is his sharing how to de-escalate a fight or confrontation.

Enemies of the Heart is inspiring, as well as practical in its teaching and exhorting.  Andy enlightens, encourages, and gently prods his readers to check the condition of their heart.  It is done in such a friendly and loving way, I don’t see how anyone could take offense at what he writes.

Not only am I thinking about how I can implement what he has written into my life, but I hope to get friends, family, and others to read this eye opening book too.  Jesus said the truth sets us free.

If you get the opportunity to read Enemies of the Heart by Andy Stanley, I recommend it highly.

To read chapter 1…

Please rank this review on Blogging For Books

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for an honest review.
Published by

lightatheart

Christian, Blogger, Book reviewer, and more

What do you think?

