Illusion by Frank Peretti


Illusion, the latest and greatest book Mr. Peretti has ever written?  Maybe.  It is the best one of his that I’ve read since ‘This Present Darkness’ and ‘Piercing The Darkness’.  Is it better than those?  To me it is as good but different.  I loved the spiritual truths he brought out in all three.

This book opens on a sad, tragic note.  After forty love-filled, married years, Mandy is swept out of Dane’s life due to a horrific car crash.  Dane is left to grieve and pick up the pieces of his life the best he can without Mandy.  Then Mr. Peretti takes us back to 1970 and gives us a glimpse of Mandy at nineteen as she attends the local fair.  We follow her through a few thoughts and activities when all of a sudden something has changed.  She is still Mandy, she is still nineteen but everything in her life has changed.  The story unfolds around a sixty year old Dane and a nineteen year old Mandy meeting and building a tutor/student relationship.

Suspense, drama, romance, intrigue, surprise twists, a great storyline, and even better ending.  It has them all.  Illusion is 512 pages arranged in 54 chapters.  Mr. Peretti is a master writer and the characters come alive bit by bit with just enough suspense to keep it interesting and yet not be tied in knots wondering what will happen next.  The characters show God’s grace and trust in Jesus very well throughout the story.  The plot is mysterious, the dialog flows, the descriptions and scenes are great.  I enjoyed everything about it.

Illusion is a ‘feel good’, entertaining, inspiring kind of book that drew me in and kept tugging just enough to make stepping away from my computer, where I was reading it, difficult.  It is also the kind of book that the characters become like friends and I was left wanting to visit with them just a bit more at some point down the line.  I highly recommend reading it.  The joy and wonder one feels the writer has in his own life peeks out at the reader over and over in this story.

Illusion Book Cover Image

Purposes of Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a temporary digital copy of the book mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”.
Published by

lightatheart

Christian, Blogger, Book reviewer, and more

2 thoughts on “Illusion by Frank Peretti”

What do you think?

