‘Flight of the Earls’ by Michael K Reynolds


‘Flight of the Earls’ is a joy to read. Sad and shocking at times, but extremely easy to read and very absorbing. It is set in the 1840’s first in Ireland and later in America. This isn’t the kind of story that you know what is going to happen ahead of time. Michael gives clues throughout the story about the characters, but about the time I thought I knew the general direction the story was headed, it would take an unexpected turn.

Wonderfully written, the characters come alive as the story progresses. Monday night I sat down to read a few paragraphs to get a feel for what it was like and the next thing I knew it was 1:30 a.m., Tuesday morning. Then I sat down later in the morning to check my emails and got started again on the story instead, once again the hours flew by, and just like that the book was completed.

Mr. Reynolds doesn’t have a strong, blatant Christian theme to ‘Flight of the Earls’, but he hasn’t shied away from sharing a subtle Christian witness either.

I thoroughly enjoyed the book and was mentally transported to times and places that are basically alien to our current lives. A time when God, family, and country were more important than ‘I’. A time of monstrous hardships and sacrifices, yet pure joys and contentment. When life was harsh and extremely unfair, but people didn’t expect someone else to fulfill their every whim.

I recommend this book to one and all.

Flight of the Earls book cover image

Purposes of Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a digital copy of this book for free in exchange for my honest opinion of it in a review on my blog. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Published by

lightatheart

Christian, Blogger, Book reviewer, and more

What do you think?

